Glutton for Publishment

Two years ago, I was in the middle of pitching my Get Your Pitchfork On! manuscript to prospective publishers. Whoever thinks writers are pale, weak, sensitive creatures lounging on our fainting couches has obviously never seen us get rejection note after rejection note. Hunching over a desk in a poorly lit room and writing is one thing—publishing altogether another. In fact, I used to teach a how-to-get-published workshop called “Glutton for Publishment.”

Because I am one of these gluttons, I have been sending my work out for more than 20 years. I don’t take rejection personally; every editor has his/her own taste and mission with their publication. What might inspire someone one day might annoy them the next. Every once in a while, I get a bite! Being published by someone is a combination of good writing, good timing, and good luck.

So, I was absolutely thrilled when Adam Parfrey of Process Media contacted me to ask for more than my sample chapter to review! And then, when he sent me a contract! I was so happy I kissed it.

Kristy makes out with her contract

Kristy makes out with her publishing contract

With Get Your Pitchfork On! closing in on its first full year—after lots of reviews, interviews and articles written about and by me—one might think that the novelty of seeing my words in print might have worn off. On the contrary! Every time I write a new piece, the joy of seeing it enter the world begins anew.

Which brings me to Thursday last.

Thursday was a banner day, beginning with a guest blog post on the site of Denver’s illustrious Tattered Cover Book Store:

http://tatteredcoverbookstore.blogspot.com/2013/01/a-special-guest-post-from-author-kristy.html

In it, I describe the travails and benefits of living in a place with snow. A lot of snow.

And later in the day, HandPicked Nation ran the first of what will hopefully be many excerpts of this blog and the book itself:

http://www.handpickednation.com/making-value-added-goods-from-the-farm/

(Posting this may create some kind of blog-vortex, since their page sends you back to July’s original post.)

Some people save their rejection notes in a shoebox; some paper their walls with them (this is becoming more difficult with the triumph of email over snail mail). I recycle them and focus on the pieces that made it through all the hoops.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Glutton for Publishment

  1. Sheila Deeth says:

    I wonder if one can recycle email rejections. There’s certainly something impossibly wonderful about making out with that contract though. Congratulations on a year of Pitchfork!

Leave a Reply

